Outstanding PhD Thesis Award

Call for nominations

On behalf of the ICGH9 International Scientific Committee, a new award category for Outstanding PhD Thesis will be offered at ICGH9 in Denver (2017). To recognize doctoral thesis research of outstanding quality and achievement in gas hydrate research, awards will be given to scientists who have received their PhD doctoral degrees on or after October 1, 2013 and before December 31, 2016. Theses will be ranked based on the following:

  1. An assessment of innovative research methods
  2. Development of enabling technologies
  3. Impact to the broader hydrate community

The awards will be given in ICGH9 during the conference banquet and will carry a certificate citing the contribution made by the recipient. It is noted that the candidate must be present at ICGH9 in order to receive this award.

The nomination and supporting information should be sent to Professor Praveen Linga of the National University of Singapore ( by January 27, 2017. The submission document should contain the following sections:

  1. One-page nomination letter from the graduate's supervisor
  2. List of journal publications arising from the PhD thesis work (the supervisor should establish the links of the thesis chapters to the publications in the nomination letter)
  3. One-page impact statement on the research outcomes, with an analysis of citations, awards, and visibility to the hydrate community
  4. Evidence of PhD thesis completion date (scan copy of thesis completion date or degree conferment from the University)
  5. A two-page curriculum vitae of the candidate
  6. Electronic pdf copy of the PhD thesis

The Best Thesis Awardee(s) will be notified by March 1, 2017, leaving time for the awardee(s) to complete early registration for ICGH9.

Other Awards

Two awards are given by the International Conference on Gas Hydrates: (a) the Lifetime Achievement Award(s), and (b) the Donald W. Davidson Award. Nominations will be evaluated by the International Scientific Committee about six months prior to the conference. October 1, 2016 is the deadline for award nomination submittals for ICGH9 to Carolyn Koh, Colorado School of Mines ( Each award is contingent upon the recipient's attendance at the ICGH9 banquet.

The period for submission of nominations for these awards has closed.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The International Lifetime Achievement Award is given for significant, continuous contributions to the area of hydrate research, practice, and/or exploration, for a period of twenty (20) years or more. Typically two or three Lifetime Achievement Awards are determined by the ICGH International Scientific Committee (ISC) upon receipt of all of the following:

  1. a nomination letter, citing the rational for the award to the nominee
  2. a minimum of two supporting letters
  3. the curriculum vitae (CV) of the nominee

To nominate one or more individuals for the Lifetime Achievement Award, send the required information by email to no later than October 1, 2016.

The ICGH ISC will determine the recipient(s) of the Lifetime Achievement Award(s) by evaluating the nomination package. The award(s) may be given via the process of evaluation of the submitted material in its own right, and by comparison to past recipients of the award.

Past recipients of the ICGH Lifetime Achievement Award:

2008 – Yuri Makogon, Texas A & M University
2008 – Keith Kvenvolden, United States Geological Survey
2011 – Erwin Suess, University of Kiel and Oregon State University
2011 – Dendy Sloan, Colorado School of Mines
2014 – John Ripmeester, National Research Council of Canada
2014 – Ulfert Klomp, Royal Dutch Shell
2014 – Huen Lee, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology

Donald W. Davidson Award

The outstanding contributions to scientific research made by the late Don Davidson of the National Research Council of Canada are recognized via the Donald W. Davidson Award.

The Donald W. Davidson Award is offered to a young researcher, less than 40 years old or is within 10 years from obtaining her/his PhD, who has already made outstanding contributions to the field of gas hydrates. The presentation of the award will be made during the conference.

The nomination consists of:

  1. a letter describing the contributions that the nominee has made that justify the award
  2. a CV of the nominee

Send the nomination information by email to no later than October 1, 2016.

Past recipients of the Donald W. Davidson Award:

2008 - Michael Riedel, McGill University
2011 - Ross Anderson, Heriot-Watt University
2014 – Joo Yong Lee, Korean Institute of Geoscience & Mineral Resources